Museums & History
Richmond | Wayne County, Indiana has a vast array of Museums and History. From History Museums to Art Museums and everything in between, you'll be sure to learn something new!
Did you know Richmond, Indiana has the only two permanent mummy displays in the state of Indiana?
The Mansion House was built in 1840 pioneer-era as an upscale hotel inn and also served as the office for the Western Stage Company where stagecoaches changed horses. The Mansion house became a museum in 1967 when it was acquired by the Wayne County Historical Museum and later purchased by Historic Centerville, inc. 1975. 2017 marks 50 years as a museum!
See 14 Model T Fords representing years of the Model T production 1908-1927. View airplanes with Model T engines. Come see the items in our gift shop! Admission charged. Free for Model T Ford Club members.
Overbeck Art Pottery was produced in the family home, built in 1830's. The house was rescued from demolition in 1973 and restored as a private residence. A coal-oil fired kiln is in the square kiln house. Donations accepted. Tours available by appointment.
Fine art museum, founded in 1898, featuring Indiana artists and American art including, T.C. Steele, John E Bundy, Wayman Adams, Wm. Merritt Chase, Robert Reid, Childe Hassam, and Overbeck pottery. Free admission.
McGuire Hall Auditorium Facility Booking Inquiries: 765-966-0256
Built in 1812, the log courthouse is the oldest existing courthouse in Indiana. Salisbury was a small settlement just south and about midway between Richmond and Centerville. Salisbury has long since disappeared. Open for local festivals and by appointment.
The Starr District, listed on the National Register, was developed from farmland bought by Charles and Elizabeth Starr from Jeremiah Cox, a Richmond founder. The land was subdivided into lots in the early 1850s and sold for residential construction. The homes reflect the early, middle, and late Victorian periods of architectural styles, as well as additions of early 20th century homes.
Get a glimpse of jazz artists and recordings of times past in our quaint gallery. Gift shop available.
Richmond is home to a collection of Louis Comport Tiffany stained glass windows. Three sites within a five block area offer a glimpse of this magnificent National Art Treasure.
Memorial Park contains memorials from the Civil War, WWI, WWII, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, Womens Memorial, Purple Heart Memorial and more all along the scenic Whitewater River. Two M3A3 Stuart tanks that once sat on the Wayne County courthouse property reside in the park as well. This beautiful memorial park was created by veterans for veterans.
Comprised of eight buildings on a compact site, the museum is a unique repository of Wayne County and Richmond history from early pioneer life through the industrial revolution into modern times.
Crossing through a number of scenic and historic southeastern Indiana countries, the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway bridges the distance (76 miles) between the Ohio River and the historic National Road. Along this route are some of the state's most authentic canal features.
The Indiana State Historic Site Canal Boat Run, located in Old Metamora offers horse-pulled canal boat rides for your pleasure. A restored and operational Grist Mill, powered by the water of the canal, offers a unique opportunity to watch whole grains milled into cornmeal and grits.
Mill is free; Admission charged for canal boat.
Long before woolly mammoths roamed the frozen plains,
long before dinosaurs existed, Indiana was covered by a shallow sea teaming with life.
The fossils found in the Whitewater Valley give us some idea of what life was like in Indiana 445 million years ago.
Full-scale replica of 1903 Wilbur Flyer. Kitty Hawk video. Displays of family history with Wright Brothers struggles and successes before and after Kitty Hawk. 1903 Main Street includes print and bicycle shops. Wilbur's rebuilt birth home. Be sure to stop at the gift shop as well.